2011 Chefs Collaborative Sustainability Awards Nominations

Posted by erauch, May 17, 2011

The 2011 Sustainability Awards recognize individuals who have played an exemplary role in advancing the Chefs Collaborative mission to make sustainability second nature in the greater culinary community.  Awards will be presented on Monday, Oct. 24, 2011, at the Chefs Collaborative Awards Dinner during the National Summit in New Orleans.
Nominations are due on or before May 25. Click here to download your nomination form.  Email your form to awards@chefscollaborative.org or fax it to 617-236-5272.
The Awards
This award will recognize a chef who has been both a great mentor and is a model to the culinary community through his/her purchases of seasonal, sustainable ingredients and the transformation of these ingredients into delicious food.

This award will recognize a visionary working in the greater food community who has been a catalyst for positive change within the food system through efforts that go beyond the kitchen. 

Foodshed Champion
* In 2011, this award will recognize a producer in the Gulf Coast Region.
This award will recognize a food producer (farmer, fisher, artisanal producer) committed to working with chefs and who exemplifies these principles:  Good food begins with unpolluted air, land, and water, environmentally sustainable farming and fishing, and humane animal husbandry and who has formed successful, lasting partnerships with chefs.  

2011 Awards Judges:

Rick Bayless, Chef/Owner, Frontera, Topolobampo, XOXO restaurants; Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board member, Chicago, IL
Nancy Civetta, Communications Officer at Pew Charitable Trust Environment Group’s Campaign to End Overfishing in New England, Welfleet, MA
Peter Davis, Executive Chef, Henrietta’s Table, 2010 Sustainer awardee, Cambridge, MA
Ed Doyle, President and Founder of Real Food Consulting, Inc
Rebecca Goldburg, Director of Marine Science at Pew Charitable Trust’s Environment Group, Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board Member, New York, NY
Joan Dye Gussow, Professor Emeritus at Columbia University, Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board Member, Piermont, NY
Fred Kirschenmann, Distinguished Fellow at the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture, Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board Member, Ames, IA
Chris Koetke:  Executive Director, Kendall College School of Culinary Arts  Vice President, Laureate International Universities Center of Excellence in Culinary Arts,  2010 Pathfinder awardee, Chicago, IL
Michael Leviton, Chef/Owner of Lumiere and Chair of the Chefs Collaborative Board
Theresa Marquez, Vice President of Marketing, Organic Valley, La Farge, WI
Richard McCarthy, Co-Founder and Executive Director of Crescent City Market
Dan McGovern, Publisher, Sustainable Food News, Portland, ME
Gary Nabhan, Internationally-celebrated nature writer, seed saver, conservation biologist and sustainable agriculture activist, Patagonia, AZ
Nicolette Hahn Niman, Attorney and Livestock Rancher, Bolinas CA
Michel Nischan, Chef/Owner, Dressing Room, Chefs Collaborative Advisory Board Member, Westport, CT
Tracey Ryder, President and CEO of Edible Communities, Santa Fe, NM. 
Robin Schempp, President of Right Stuff Enterprises, Waterbury, VT
Ewell Smith, Executive Director, Louisiana Promotion and Marketing Board
Stephen Stryjewski, Chef/Partner, Cochon, New Orleans, LA
Poppy Tooker, Food Personality, Cooking Teacher, Author, New Orleans, LA
Bob Reese, Principal and Founder, Vermont Butter and Cheese, 2010 Foodshed Campion awardee, Websterville, VT
Jane Black, Journalist, Huntington, WV
For more information about the process, click here, or call 617-236-5200 if you have questions.